Set Up

The instructions that arrived with the bulbs were quite simple. To begin with, I downloaded the LOHAS app and used the app to discover my devices. To make the first bulb discoverable, I screwed it into my living room lamp and turned the lamp on and off until the bulb began to flash white quickly. On my first attempt, it flashed slowly and was not discovered, and I was initially confused. After a further two attempts, it was discovered and could be controlled via the app, I tested changing the colour and brightness and it worked perfectly. I then moved onto the bedroom lamp, this one was discovered and controllable on the first attempt. All in all, this entire process took around 15-20 minutes, including unwrapping and reading instructions, to sitting down with my new coloured bulb turned on and pressing ‘play’ on a movie.

Usage and Results

One thing I notice straight away about these bulbs is that they are definitely bright enough for mood lighting and create a great atmosphere. The one I have in the living room is used for atmospheric lighting while watching a film or a TV show. I also use it for low, non-white, lighting while I have a migraine which definitely reduces the strain on my eyes. I also use it to produce a warm white light as an additional lamp at night time, it is bright enough as a light source. The one I have in the bedroom, I mainly use as a red-light to boost melatonin production and aid with sleep, I have found it works quite well. I also use this one for low, non-white lighting if I have a migraine. I find that the coloured light from these bulbs is perfect for helping wind down before bed and is much less harsh on the eyes than white light. I have been using these bulbs on a daily basis for four months, I have never had either of them disconnect or need to be rediscovered by the app. The Alexa bridge works perfectly and has never miscommunicated or failed to execute a command. I have incorporated both of these bulbs into various Alexa ‘routines’. They work perfectly as part of a routine and there is no delay or noticeable difference between them or any of my other smart devices.

Conclusion

I absolutely adore these smart bulbs. Set up was much quicker than I thought it would be, even though it took a few attempts initially to get the first set up correct. The bulbs have worked perfectly, and have not had a single fault, for over four months now. I very literally have zero complaints. Compared to other smart bulbs on the market, these are very reasonably priced. For the vibrancy in colour and strength of the light, they are a steal and you really can’t go wrong with them. I am very confident that should I need to expand my smart home further, LOHAS will be one of the first places I look to. I highly recommend these bulbs.

My Rating

Share Your Experience

© 2020 VerityPrice

My Review of Lohas LED E14 Candle Colour Changing Smart Light Bulbs - 95My Review of Lohas LED E14 Candle Colour Changing Smart Light Bulbs - 17My Review of Lohas LED E14 Candle Colour Changing Smart Light Bulbs - 87