Photography by Charles Kikas I was in the market for a bridge camera—a camera that bridges the gap between cheaper point-and-shoot cameras and more expensive DSLR or mirrorless cameras. I also wanted something with a long zoom lens of 30x or more. I found exactly what I was looking for with the Nikon L840.

Features and Specs

The Nikon L840 offers a long zoom, a fast-handling design, with built-in Wi-Fi and near field communication technology (NFC), and it all comes together in this budget digital camera to help you take your photos and videos to the next level. Zoom in to catch great close-ups, then send your image directly to your compatible smartphone to share your photos instantly. Photography by Charles KIkas The Coolpix offers a flip-out, high-resolution, tilting LCD screen for taking low-angle macro shots of whatever is in front of you! Release Date: March 2015 Resolution: 16 MP Lens: Nikkor Wide Optical 4.0-152mm 1:3-6.5 Optical Zoom: 38x Color: Black, Plum, Red Connection Type: Composite Video, HDMI, USB Video: 1080p Full HD Batteries: 4 AA

Review and Opinion

First impressions are lasting impressions, upon opening the box and lifting out the “new to me” Nikon L840, I immediately noticed how light and balanced the camera was. Weighing in at only 19 ounces, this thing felt great in my hands. If looks were the only thing that makes a camera outstanding then Nikon has done it. What a sexy camera. I was originally looking for the black version but I was only able to find the red one locally. The exterior design is flawless and all the buttons are intuitively placed for ease of use. Photography by Charles Kikas The picture quality is excellent, I noticed that sometimes the photo displayed on the screen didn’t appear crisp but when I opened it in my editor it was fine. Other than that, HD video was crisp and clear; the Nikon handled motion well with a lifelike representation of colors in both the camera and video modes. I was completely impressed with the 38x optical zoom capability. I was able to take high-quality photos and videos of the moon in both low light and complete darkness. Very impressive for an older camera. With built-in stabilization, the Nikon makes it easy to take long zoom shots free-handed but better results are achieved when using a steady tripod. Overall, I am totally impressed with this camera, even with it being seven years-old, it handles day-to-day use flawlessly. The only issues I have come across are the display problem I mentioned earlier and the relatively short battery life. I’ve noticed that I can only film for about an hour or so using standard AA alkaline batteries. I am planning to switch to lithium AA batteries for critical photography projects and I am definitely investing in rechargeable batteries in the near future! Other than these two simple issues, I can’t complain. The price is right, the specs are relatively decent for what I use it for, and you just can’t beat the quality of a Nikon product, period.

Overall Rating of the Nikon Coolpix L840

Photos 4.4/5.0 Video 4.5/5.0 Construction 5.0/5.0 Weight 4.8/5.0 Ease of Use 5.0/5.0 Battery Life 4.0/5.0 Overall Rating 4.6/5.0 This article is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge. Content is for informational or entertainment purposes only and does not substitute for personal counsel or professional advice in business, financial, legal, or technical matters. © 2022 Charles Kikas

Nikon Coolpix L840  Is This the Best Budget Used Digital Camera  - 62Nikon Coolpix L840  Is This the Best Budget Used Digital Camera  - 10Nikon Coolpix L840  Is This the Best Budget Used Digital Camera  - 73