Walter Shillington My lost glasses dilemma appears unsolvable. However, a set of keys or a piece of missing luggage can be easily tracked. You only require a smartphone, a tracking program, and an electronic tag. Today I am taking a look at a Bluetooth-capable tag from Atuvos.

Description

These rectangularly shaped tracking devices are 0.43 inches thick, 1.38 inches wide, and 1.38 inches tall. Individual tags are encased in white colored plastic and weigh only 0.4 ounces. One corner of the tag is pierced by a hole large enough to accommodate a string, strap, or key ring. A button is used to turn the device on or off. The Atuvos Tag is a Bluetooth device that is explicitly designed to work in conjunction with the Apple iOS Find My application.

Specifications

Brand: Atuvos Name: Tag Model: AT2101 Weight: 11 grams (0.4 ounces) Dimensions: 11 x 35 x 35 millimeters (0.43 x 1.38 x 1.38 inches) Battery type: CR2032 Battery life: One year Range: Up to 120 meters (400 feet) Operating frequency: 2402 – 2480MHz Maximum transmit power: 8dBm Voice control: Siri Audio tone: Yes Application: iOS Find My Compatible OS: iOS Water resistance: IP67

Functional Description and Setup

An Atuvos Tag connects to your iOS device using Bluetooth. It is used to track the lost keyring or piece of luggage to which it is physically attached. Walter Shillington The first step in the setup procedure is to open the Find My application and select items. From the resulting menu, choose Add other item. Then press the Atuvos Tag’s button. Two beeps indicate the tag is turned on and can be discovered by the Find My application. Once the tag is discovered and given a name, it will be added to the application’s map. The Atuvos tag can be tracked by your iPhone whenever it is within the phone’s Bluetooth range. This device also takes advantage of the Find My application’s ability to download tracking information from iCloud. A secure Bluetooth signal transmitted by the Atuvos Tag can be detected by nearby devices connected to the Find My network. These devices, which consist of surrounding iPhones, iPods, and Macs, relay the Atuvos tag’s physical location to iCloud. This position will then be recorded on the application’s map.

The Local Test

I attached a set of keys to the Atuvos tag and stored it within the shed 50 feet behind my house. Then I retreated to my kitchen and opened the Find My application. The application displayed the icons representing my iPhone and the tag at the same location, noting that the tag was with me. This information indicated the tag was within the area covered by my phone’s Bluetooth. I walked back to the shed. Then, as I stood outside its closed door, I selected Play Sound on the application. I could hear the tracking tag beep. The location of lost items within the area covered by the iPhone’s Bluetooth can be found by wandering around the local area and listening for the beeping tag. Explicit directions to the tag are neither provided nor necessary.

The Long Range Test

For this experiment, I strolled down to the local mall and hid the tag in the middle of its parking lot. Then I returned home and opened the Find My application. Its map noted that the iPhone was presently located on my property and provided the last known position of the tag. Halfway between my house and the mall, this location marked where my phone’s WiFi connection failed. Fair enough. I picked up my Kindle and started to read a Gavin Lyall novel. Ten minutes later, I checked the Find My application again. During this time, at least one iPhone owner had entered the mall’s parking lot and, once his phone picked up the Atuvos tag’s signal, reported its location to iCloud. The Find My application had now pinpointed the missing tag. I tapped the Directions icon, revealing a thick blue line providing concise direction to my tag. The blue line disappeared about two-thirds of the way to the mall as the last tenuous tendrils of my WiFi connection dissipated. Happily, the map still indicated the position of both my phone and the tag. Two minutes later, I had the missing keyring in my hand and was heading into the mall to grab a coffee.

Overall Impression

This system provides an audio alert to help you find any item to which you have attached an Atuvos tag. If lost outside your iPhone’s Bluetooth coverage, Atuvos leverages the Find My application and Apple’s network of connected devices to locate the item and provide concise directions. The Atuvos Tag is recommended. This content reflects the personal opinions of the author. It is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge and should not be substituted for impartial fact or advice in legal, political, or personal matters. © 2022 Walter Shillington

Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 35Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 85Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 97Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 63Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 74Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 97Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 88Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 85Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 5Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 63Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 6Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 33Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 35Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 24Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 59Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 26Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 10Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 20Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 83Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 74Review of the Atuvos Luggage Tracker and Key Finder - 42