I spent a few days alternating between the ZIOCOM 30 Pin Bluetooth Adapter Receiver and the CoolStream Duo Bluetooth Adapter Receiver. I ultimately went with the ZIOCOM because it uses Bluetooth v4.1 versus Bluetooth 3.0 for the CoolStream. CoolStream claims to have a range of up to 30 feet while the ZIOCOM specs list a range of up to 33 feet. The ZIOCOM adapter fits many 30-pin Music Docking Stations like Sony, JBL, Yamaha, and Philips. Because this was the cheapest of the compatible adapters for my system, I was concerned about range and interference in the signal. But range hasn’t been an issue. I tested the range of the ZIOCOM by placing it in my living room and then going into the office. Despite there being a bathroom, a hall, and three walls between the Bose and my phone, the music continued to play without any issues. I went upstairs, and the music also played without interruption. I always worry about the ease of establishing a connection when buying Bluetooth devices. Some devices can be hard to pair. I have an Android phone and the ZIOCOM (SOUL 2) connected immediately. The adapter is a little flimsy which may be an issue if you plan to move it from one device to another regularly. Otherwise, you can keep it plugged into the SoundDock. It has an on/off switch, so you don’t have to unplug it when it’s not in use. If you have young children, consider keeping the adapter out of reach to avoid damage. When I cast to the Hub, the audio and video sometimes go out of sync. I fix this either by pausing the show on my phone or turning off and on the switch on the ZIOCOM. This syncing issue doesn’t happen when I play video directly on the Hub itself. This seems to be an issue with content going from my phone to the Hub, and then to the adapter and the Bose. Overall, I’m very happy with this adapter. The range suits my needs, and I have had no issues getting it to connect. I do worry about longevity because it is a little flimsy. There’s also a crackling sound at high volumes when the ZIOCOM is on, but the speaker isn’t in use. It isn’t an issue for me when I’m listening to something because the audio drowns it out. If you decide to purchase this particular model, make sure to test it thoroughly within the return window. This article is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge. Content is for informational or entertainment purposes only and does not substitute for personal counsel or professional advice in business, financial, legal, or technical matters. © 2021 LT Wright

Review of the ZIOCOM 30 Pin Bluetooth Adapter for the Bose SoundDock and Other Docking Stations - 86Review of the ZIOCOM 30 Pin Bluetooth Adapter for the Bose SoundDock and Other Docking Stations - 58